Sewing Day – Make up Pouches

I’m catching up on past projects that needed to be posted, however I still have some items I haven’t done.

Since I only had one day off of work this week I decided to focus on sewing. I’ve been meaning to make more make-up clutch bags, but I wanted to try something new. I have this overnight bag that I received as a gift and I wanted to recreate it, however…. it has a “ZIPPER”. Oh that dreaded zipper. You don’t know how I hate zippers and just cringe at the thought of putting one on something of mine. I mean I don’t even put them in my purses I make. HOWEVER, after today… I can see me using zippers more! Squeals softly, YAY!

I actually went to work to buy “zippers”. Cringe. How many. Cringe. 38. Cringe. I better learn right. I bought 24 the other day, the rest today. Thank gawd for employee discounts. My boss is aware that I started my own business, seen my stuff and when he saw just “zippers”, cringe. He just looked at me and said, okay, so what are you making now? I said make-up bags, or whatever you want to call them. He said nice. I said not. Why he replied. “ZIPPERS”. I hate “zippers”. But I’m going to make them my best friend now. Twenty dollars later I’m on my way home.

The last few days before I had to go to work or in the evening while watching some of my tv shows, I’ve been youtube ‘g and looking at Lazy Girl Designs. Joan Hawley has some amazing pouch bags that really intrigue me. The Sweetpea pods and Becca bags. She has a new technique One-Zip. Look at these things, they are AWESOME!

I so definitely have to get these patterns and learn how to do the One-Zip technique. As soon as I get more comfortable with zippers, you can see me moving on to these and putting them in my booth! But for now I am learning the basics to get up to speed.

So after viewing a few youtube videos on making make-up bags and triangle pouches, I was ready to dive in, yes shaking, whispers… “zippers”. I ended up viewing a DIY video on a triangle pouch because that is the one that I have. The video I viewed is a smaller one than I have, but you start out with a 10 x 10 piece of fabric and cut it in half. You actually can make two pouches with one 10 x 10. I was all ready to go with that one, however making it bigger, but then, my mind changed. I saw a video on how to make a make-up bag, travel bag, or overnight bag, which ever you want to call it. It was another DIY youtube, however it was brief and the person narrating it would just say now sew this and this and you didn’t actually see that. That sort of bummed me out, however on the triangle pouch viewing the whole video she filled in the missing links. Since both the items are similar went with the bigger item. Oh also on the make-up bag, she states the dimension are on the bottom of the video, I didn’t see any. I ended up seeing a overseas video and took the cm dimensions.

I started out with 2 different pieces of fabric, lining and main, heavy weight stabilizer, 14 inch zipper. Fabric is suppose to be 10 x 15, I went 10 x 16. Basics, lay fabric back to back, lay zipper on the 10 inch side with the zipper pull down. Sew the zipper on both fabrics, open, lay flat, press, top stitch. Repeat process on other side. I don’t know if I am doing it right, but the video shows it simple, but I felt I was doing something wrong because I was having difficulty but I got it to work. I had to open the zipper to top stitch. Oh the other thing, I was using zippers that were 12 and 14 inch, not 10 inch. You see with plastic teeth you can actually cut the zipper after it has been sewn, down to the fabric, so it doesn’t have to be flush with the sides of the fabric. Then you make sure the lining is on the outside when you sew the sides and make sure the zipper is pulled open slightly. Center the zipper in the middle of the fabric. I sewed one side then did a zig-zag stitch on the seam, you can use a surger instead, but well uhm, I have a surger but never used it. Sorry mom. Trim the seam. On each corner you do a box corner. Zig-zag close to the edge, cut off. Then you do the same to the other side. Then open the pouch and turn right side out. I struggled with the last one I made because… I didn’t bring the zipper down far enough. I made sure when I opened it I pushed all the corners out. In the video I viewed which I am not supplying the link, they should have included a tab at the bottom of the zipper so the person has something to grasp to open more easier. So I will be hand sewing tabs on the few I made. Will be putting thin ribbon in the zipper tab.

These things are snap to make. Including time cutting, ironing on iron on stabilizer and sewing all, one hour. ONE HOUR. How cool is that. Tonight I was suppose to cut more fabric to make more, however I will do that on Saturday so on Sunday I can make more make-up bags and maybe some large triangle bags. I know I only have 30 something zippers, but 15 of each kind will be fine, but I plan on having a bunch of these made so I can go to Lazy Girl designs and learn that technique. I’ll eventually go to the place that Joan talks about for zippers, even tho I haven’t looked at the price yet. Where I work I can get them for 1.69 a piece and if I can get them cheaper, I’ll go there. AND OMG… colors, go with the amazing colors they carry.

Here we go my first set of make-up bags including my prototype flowers, not the roses).

12715767_10206064173982909_6898845216531035203_nMy husband is being more supportive lately and not complaining about no dinners. But I sent him a picture of my prototype and he sent a text back, “are you at work?” I returned the text with I’m off today. But when he came home he looked at them and loved them. My daughter who usually doesn’t say anything, saw them and chimed in, I like them a lot. I think the material also makes it. The underwear fabric I bought years ago just to be in my stash. But now that fabric fits a purpose!

Thank you for reading my post and hope you enjoyed. If you want to see videos, google youtube make-up pouches or triangle pouches with “zippers” <cringe>.

Leave a Reply

