Envelope Back Pillow

Recently I made drapes for my son’s girlfriend’s town house. Once I finished all of them I had fabric left over. I told her I would make some pillows, for when she puts her place up for sale it’ll look a lot more cozy and comfy.

Now I am one of those crafters that well I can create without patterns nor using the net to find instructions on how to make items. I had seen some where, where you could make pillows that had an opening in the back to slip a pillow cover on it. So basically I took the material figured how I was going to make them and just sewed them up.  I didn’t even know these pillows had names. Yeah they are called envelope back pillows, I can see where they got the name too.

If you click the link it’ll take you to a site with instructions on how to make them, below is how I did it, using home decor fabric. Some of the sites that I visited on how to make these, they had added embellishments, the fabric my son’s girlfriend wanted, no embellishment needed. Look very professional and expensive as well.

Cream color fabric was a silky material and raveled like crazy. The red and brown fabric was a lot heavier and there was a tendency to ravel but not as much. With both fabrics I turned the ends over twice,  these ends are the opening to stuff the pillow, consider the ends hems, one on each side. I then folded the material a few inches so that the material would overlap on both sides when the pillow was inside. I stitched along both the bottom area where the folds were and at the clean edge. This makes the envelope opening cleaner.

Put the fabric on the table, placed the pillow form on top, folded the finished edge to the area of the pillow i wanted it placed. Then I took the rest of the fabric folded it over to figure how much material was needed to finish off the other end. Did the other end like above. Then placed the pillow again on the wrong side of fabric and folded each end, trying to keep the envelop opening centered or to my liking. Slipped the pillow out making my markings where the openings were to be set, pinned and then stitched 1/4 inch seam. measured the pillow to 15 inches (14 inch pillow form) and did 1/4 on the other side for a seam. At each corner cut a slant towards the seam. Flipped the fabric inside out and then slipped the pillow form inside. There was a good amount of overlay that you could not see the pillow form.

Sorry but the pictures are blurry but you can see the envelop opening in both pillows above, where as I could not find that with other sites I visited. And you can see the end product with the others. They look really nice and it was a big surprise on her part.

Best thing to do, buy pillow forms when JoAnn’s has them on sale for 50% off! I can just see taking a stock pile of pillow forms and taking remnants of fabric, making these Envelope Pillow Covers and having your daughter fill up her bed with them.

Leave a Reply

