Free Purse Patterns

Yesterday I bought a magazine from my neighborhood JoAnn’s Fabric store. I was good and walked out without purchasing any fabric, yet I had a few bolts in hand. If you don’t find it at your local fabric store, Hobby Lobby, check out your neighborhood grocery store.

l_100423852My purchase was the current issue of Better Homes and Gardens Creative Collection magazine. Across the front of the magazine it says in big bold letters “Bags, Pillows and Pincushions”. It has lots of quick and easy projects. They have Amy Butlers favorite clutch in this issue, the pattern is not in the magazine, but if you are a member to Better Homes and Gardens newsletter, you can download the pdf file of the pattern. I really do like this pattern and you will too especially because its Amy Butler.

mosaic8214471As I blogged yesterday, I ran into this cute little purse that was designed by Rae. You can go to Rae’s blog, Made by Rae and download the pdf files for her Buttercup purse. I was surprised when I saw that it only takes a fat quarter to make the exterior of this purse. It appears to be a very simple and easy purse to make. 

If you haven’t noticed, I really like purses and tonight I was looking at fabric purse books at Barnes and Noble. I might be requesting several books and then reviewing them when they have been received at the store. Later I will show you which ones I purchased. When I was a moderator on a yahoo group we did a purse, bag, tote swap. The beautiful purses that where made by the women on that board was unbelievable. Even though I did not participate, but put it all together, one of the participants made me a special bag with my initials machine embroidered on it. I use that bag when ever I go away, whether it be a week-end trip or a vacation. 

Please be advised that both these patterns are copyrighted and can only be sewn for your purse-nal use or for gifts. You cannot make the items and sell for a profit. 

In the future I will be posting more free purse patterns that I run across. If you have found a nice pattern and would like to share, feel free to comment on this post with the url if you know it.

3 responses to “Free Purse Patterns

  1. Hey, I started that buttercup bag from rae – easy-peasy and DARLING. I’m adding a zipper to mine. I did it wrong on the first one, but now have it figured out. I’ll email you a pic when I’m done, k?
    Love ya!

  2. Hey!

    I’m a norwegian girl dying to get the sewing-pattern for the buttercup-purse!! Can you e-mail me the sewing-pattern? I really want it, but I can’t manage to find/download it from Rae’s blog :( And I can’t find it online any other places :(

    Pleeeeease help me, I will be very thankful! :)

    Anja

  3. I am also looking for the free pattern on Rae’s blog, and am very unsuccessful too. I am wondering if you do email it still. I am a novice sewer and wanting to make a mothers day gift.

Leave a Reply

