Quickie Check Book Cover Instructions

Today I made checkbook covers. Thought I would share how quick and fast they are to make. I’ve made a bunch of them for gifts and to sell. I have to post them on my ETSY site one of these days.

Materials needed – 3 pieces 3 1/2 x 7 1/2 and 1 7 1/2 x 7 1/2; 1 7 1/2 x 7 1/2 in contrasting fabric. Pellon iron on interfacing medium weight. 

dscf2656

The first thing after I cut up the material to size, I take the 3 pieces that are going to be the pockets and fold over the edge. It can be any where from 1/4 to 1/2 inch. Take the interfacing and measure the 3 pockets heights. Cut under the size as you are going to fuse the interfacing right under the fold to the bottom, thus no sewing.

 

 

dscf2659Here I am using my steam press to fuse the interfacing to the 3 pockets. Its hard to tell but there is about 1/4 inch from the top of the pocket to the fusible interfacing. You will be taking the larger and smaller pockets on one side of the cover. The other will go by itself. That will be the side where the checks will go. I’m tired so I hope I am making sense. You will be using interfacing on the 7 1/2 x 7 1/2 piece.

 

 

dscf2662I did not use iron on interfacing on this particular checkbook cover. Lay the interfacing next to the checkbook cover fabric and lay the pockets face to face as shown to the left. On the top of the photo you can see that the pockets are not flush with the checkbook cover top edge. That is because of the excess fabric from the shorter pocket. Now ready to sew the  top and bottom of the checkbook cover. Sew 1/4 inch from the edge. To reinforce the seam, I usually stitch the seam twice.

 

dscf2666In this photo we have the checkbook cover open showing with the pockets attached. Press and on to the next step. This is were I always screw up and I did on this one. I had to rip out all my stitching. The next step is sewing the inside lining of the checkbook cover. I should have turned my example that I was using all the way, thus I would not have had to rip out three sides of stitching. Lay the checkbook cover as in photo 3. Place the lining or contrasting fabric face to face.

dscf2669Now for the final sew out. Stitching three side of the checkbook cover leaving one end open. This will allow for turning purposes. Again, I do a double stitching to the side seams at 1/2 inch and 1/4 inch on one of the pocket sides, pivot at the corners. After all seams are done trim as close to the stitching but being careful not to cut any seams. On the corners clip across so avoid any excess bunching.

 

 

dscf26701Press the checkbook open and then press it closed. And here we have a bunch of checkbook covers in lots of different fabrics. Just think of all the checkbook covers you can make with all the fat quarters that you have accumulated in the years. And again, you can make them quilted or even with a small machine embroidered design on them. This project takes no more than 1 1/2 hours to do, but in my case I had again rip out what I did wrong.

Shortly I will show you how to make a fabric wallet with a snap closure and a post it not fabric holder.

One response to “Quickie Check Book Cover Instructions

  1. Pingback: Towel Swap - photos at Flickr « Clicketyclak

Leave a Reply

