Machine embroidery is not just for fabric

As tired as I may be, I thought that in the coming weeks I would talk about some how-dos on machine embroidering not only for the beginners out there, but for the advance embroider as well.

I’ll talk about different projects that I’ve done. If a reader is interested in something particular and has questions or needs assistance, I’ll be more than happy to see if I can assist or even another reader can give a few pointers.

We all try to embroider on different types of fabric. We take that chance to see how well we succeed. I haven’t embroidered on every type of fabric, but I’m getting there. There are some fabrics that I just don’t wish to take the chance or well I just have no desire to even try.

dscf0674

I like to experiment. I like to take a chance to see how creative I can be. In this photo I embroidered on painting canvas. Looking at the picture you could assume that it was a possible etching. But as you get close to it, you see the actual stitches and you want to touch it. Sure enough the item is dimensional. When I first presented this to the sewing club that I went to all the women were amazed at my handy work. The questions that came out. Did you hoop the canvas? What stabilizer was used? The canvas was hooped and it wasn’t easy because of the thickness of the canvas. There was no stabilizer used. The fiber of the canvas is already thick and the density of the design wasn’t complex that I wasn’t worried that it would pierce and rip the canvas. The reason stabilizers are used is to keep shape. With painting canvas you end up stretching it on a frame. As long as the design kept its shape while stitching out, I didn’t have to worry about anything. While the design stitched there would be an occasional pucker, but again, its going to be stretched. I did a series of 3 designs of these vintage ladies that I purchased from BFC. I sold the set and will continue to do more in the future on canvas. My next set will be Geisha ladies. Depending on the density of the design, I might put a stabilizer behind it just for added protection, but then again, do you want to see a cut away stabilizer on the back side?  I have since purchased fast frames and it’ll be easier to work with.

Leave a Reply

