Acai berry – Oprah does not endorse product

The Truth About Oprah and Açaí – Consumers should be aware that Oprah Winfrey is not associated with nor does she endorse any açaí berry product or online solicitation of such products. Attorneys for Harpo are pursuing any companies that claim such an affiliation.

The above is from Oprah’s site, now read the BBB site below.

Arlington, VA – January 5, 2009 – Better Business Bureau is warning consumers to be wary of online ads relying on celebrity endorsements to sell acai-berry related weight loss products. BBB has received thousands of complaints from consumers nationwide who thought they were signing up for a free-trial offer of acai berry weight loss products that were supposedly endorsed by Oprah, Rachel Ray and other celebrities; in the end, the free trial cost them, month after month, http://us.bbb.org/WWWRoot/SitePage.aspx?site=113&id=1869d6a9-82aa-49a1-8419-40a8251fa916&art=8493.

After someone responded to my original post about the scam they indicated that the Acai berry works. I don’t recall how much weight people loose, but I haven’t lost loads of weight in the month that I have been using it. 

Last week I received a shipment from Florida for a month supply of acai berry. I was not going to open the package. I opened the package to see if there was anything in it and sure enough there was a packing list and charge for the 89+ going to my credit card. The invoice indicated that at any time I could easily call the 800 number and cancel my order. So I ripped the 800 number off the invoice, taped up the package and scribbled out my address and put on the package, RETURN – DID NOT ORDER!

The next day I called the 800 number and as I figured, the call was answered by someone not in the states, it went overseas. I indicated that I wanted to cancel my order of acai berry. They asked for my invoice number, in which I replied that I did not have it I only had the 800 number. He then asked for my home number or last name, can’t recall. Anyways, I indicated to him that I wanted to cancel all future shipments of the product. He indicated to me that I signed a waiver indicating that I had to accept and could NOT cancel at any time. EXCUSE ME! I told him that the invoice clearly stated I could and now he was telling me NO. I basically said to him, well the package is coming back and I have already cared for the matter, they could continue to send me the product, however they will not be receiving any future payments from my credit card. I hung up the phone.

Comment that Oprah or Rachel Ray endorse the product, prove it!

UPDATE 7:30 PM – Between the time that I cancelled my credit card and had a new one established, MYACAISUPERF charged me another 95 dollars, plus a foreign exchange fee.

I was just at the bank this afternoon to get my online stuff cared for!!! Another call to the bank!!!! Glad I got my declaration of unauthorized use today!!! I have been reassured that the two charges where transferred from the old account prior to the disonnect.

 

One response to “Acai berry – Oprah does not endorse product

  1. Thank you for the helpful information. I bookmarked your site, and I hope you keep up the good work on making your blog a success!

Leave a Reply

