We have an addition

We’ve been thinking for a long period of time if we should get a playmate for our 10 year old husky shepherd mix Maggie. Maggie been feeling sluggish and well with her tendon issue in her paw, we weren’t sure if it would help or hinder.

Our kids felt the same way I did that it would be good therapy. After Christmas I started searching web-sites for huskies and german shepherds in our area. There were several out there to choose from but do I want an older dog or a pup. Decisions, decisions. There were two older dogs that were shepherds, they were sisters, they didn’t want to split them up, but then again could we take on two more? Or if we did take just one, where they bigger than our Maggie? I ran into one husky however the pictures didn’t show his face. It appeared to be a nice dog, however this one was a puppy. I know how puppies are but was it worth a try?

We contacted the Romeoville Humane Society in Illinois. We filled out the necessary paperwork and emailed. The next day we got a call we would get to see Prince on Tuesday. The Romeoville Humane Society doesn’t have a faculty for their animals, instead they have people that keep the animals at their houses until there is a potential adoption. The person brings the animal to the house and well with Prince they had to make sure that we had a fenced in yard with no way for him to escape. Price is known to run away and oh my gawd what a jumper!

Well we were approved, but would Maggie approve? They indicated to us that we could keep Prince for a day to see how the two got along. Whew that was neat, a trial period. Things where okay the first evening, however Prince likes to sleep in bed. Uh oh that’s gonna be a big issue. We accepted it the first night, however the next we had to close the doors to the bedrooms, sorry Maggie you’ll have to sleep in the hall just one night.

As you can tell we still have Prince, but his name is not Prince anymore, its now CJ. How has things been with the two. Well they get along, and yeah CJ likes to get Maggie to jump around, but we limit it due to her tendon issue, but they get along just great. There are some issues, like if I go to take CJ for a walk Maggie gets upset, dang one day I ended up having both of them. Maggie can’t handle long walks. Oh the toy issue, OMG, laughs, I have more torn up toys than I ever had (oh I got two free teddy bears buying greeting cards, they had beads in them, uhm yeah CJ ripped it open, stuffing and beans all over the place). And if Maggie has one of her favorite toys, CJ comes and grabs it, yeah there is growling at times, but we try to teach CJ no its Maggies’. Oh but wait Maggie is no angel herself….

One morning I was getting ready to do some chores. I decided that I would not put CJ in the cage (yes I put the cage up so CJ sleeps in it at night or when I will be out for a period of time – at night he doesn’t fight it but during the day I am running around the house trying to get him) . So I told CJ no, no walk, so CJ walked away and then Maggie came to the door. I said no Maggie, not now, I have to go out, as my arms where filled with packages. Well I tried to squeeze through the door and what does Maggie do, she takes a run for it and out the door she is. CRAP! and then who sees Maggie is out CJ. There he goes too! OMG OMG OMG. I try carefully to get them to come back to me but HELL NO – their making their Great Escape. I had to yell to our daughter as she came, I was already down the block. Yeah it took over an hour to get CJ, we got Maggie but no leash but a coat belt does wonders. CJ ended up running all over but we got him cornered in a fenced in yard and the lady who lived there – had a dog so we got a leash from her.

Yeah its nice to have CJ, but like hubby says, its like having kids again. Training CJ is a task, however Maggie is a good teacher. She has already showed CJ that when you come into the house with dirty paws, you lay on the sheet and let them get cleaned. We must say one thing about CJ, for being a 10 month old puppy, he is trained and listens well. CJ has taken over Maggie’s corner of the couch, but we let Maggie get up first and then CJ can then scoot next to her. Maggie is such a good dog, will be a mommy for CJ and well CJ, he will be good too as time goes on. Isn’t he a beautiful dog! We really got lucky with a great find! Now we are still wondering, will CJ grow into his paws or his ears? When our son comes over to visit he keeps asking CJ are you like Dumbo the Elephant, look at those ears!

2 responses to “We have an addition

  1. Pingback: Have Fido Acting His Best With These Dog Training Ideas

  2. Your CJ reminds us alot of our Akiak (Inuit for Brave)…. We were wondering if CJ was a Shepard/Husky Mix? The reason I’m asking is because the looks and actions are very similar between CJ and Akiak from what I have seen and read here…. We know for a fact that Akiak has Husky in him but we weren’t 100% sure on his mix because he’s also a rescue and our youngest of 4 at that. They sure keep me on my toes. Funny thing though, your Maggie looks like an older version of our Sacha which was our second rescue… We knew she had Shepard and they told us Husky where we rescued her from abonment and abuse… She is our sweet Lady.. It’s too bad I can’t show you our pics of the pack….

    Have a beautiful Day,
    Stephy

Leave a Reply

